New Frontiers

There is no other feeling in the world like this one.  There is no synthetic high like this.  I don’t know why people need synthetic highs when you can do this.  Anyone can do it.  All you need to do is come out of your comfort zone.  Think of all the things that you’re missing out on.  New food, new culture, new people.  It’s not like home?  That’s the point.

They don’t speak our language though!  So what?  I don’t like their food, it’s horrible!  How do you know it’s horrible?  You’ve never tried it.  They’re a bit weird though, I don’t like how they do things.  Do what?  They think you’re weird too.  So do I.  Your neigbour probably thinks so too.

When you watch that film on T.V and you see somewhere exotic.  You see somewhere that you’d really love to go to.  You tell the person next to you that you would really love to go there.  You tell someone at work the next day that you’d really love to go there.  They would too.  Will you ever go there?  Or will it always just be a dream?

I remember when I was a kid.  I used to pretend to be sick.  When I was sick they would put me in the nurses room and give me a jigsaw puzzle.  The puzzle was a map of the world.  I would spend hours imagining these places while placing the pieces.  The jungles of India.  The mountains of China.  I knew one day I had to go.

As I sit now on the bus, I watch the green mountains of Vietnam roll past.  I watched Platoon when I was 12.  It’s a bit different now.  I didn’t think I’d ever get here though.  There’s almost a disconnect with reality, it’s almost dream like.  You now you’re here but you still can’t quite believe it.  That old cliche about pinching yourself.

As I watch the countryside pass by I think of home, I think of all the people I know that will be doing the same thing that they were doing last year.  People that say they are jealous of what you are doing.  People that say they would love to do it too, but….

Then I realise, that what you do is not always what everyone else wants to do.  I like wandering around, seeing the world.  Other people like to have a stable life.  Other people like the comfort of home.  This isn’t for everyone.  My dreams aren’t other people’s dreams.

Sometimes we get so lost within ourselves.  We forget that what we want is not what other people want.  Sometimes we feel superior because we’ve done something that others haven’t.  We forget that they too have done things that others haven’t.  Do what you do for you.  Not because you want to feel better.  Because you’re not.

As the coach pulls up I look across the flat fields.  I see another country only 100 metres away.  That’s my buzz.  Crossing borders, seeing different people, different countries.

2 thoughts on “New Frontiers

  1. I so agree with you about the importance of getting out of your comfort zone. Because I had severe OCD my comfort zone was a prison – I couldn’t leave my house overnight to go anywhere so no holidays and no travel not even within the same country. And I had to do crazy OCD checking rituals 10 hours a day till 5am in the morning. It was gradually breaking out of that OCD comfort zone – culminating in travelling abroad for the first time in 6 years – that gave me the freedom and happiness that I have today..

    Like

    • I look back on it now and see that it was a big risk that I took. I was clean just over 2 years when I went off to India on my own. I had been in rehab for 14 months too, so I’d only been out in the world for a few months. It was the best risk I ever took. I’ve been living abroad for the last 6 years and I can’t see myself living my life any other way. Like you see the freedom in travelling is unlike anything else.

      Like

Leave a Reply

